Therapeutic counseling in a Christian context can be highly effective when it maintains narrowly focused goals in a time-limited setting. The details of this proven model of pastoral counseling are described in this practical guide. This second edition of Strategic Pastoral Counseling has two new chapters. Benner includes helpful case studies, a new appendix on contemporary ethical issues, and updated chapter bibliographies.

Offers solid biblical teaching on how to counsel and wise guidance on a broad range of situations counselors are likely to encounter. Christian Counseling provides updated, extensive coverage of the most common issues troubling those who seek counseling, such as Abuse Addictions Aging Anxiety Career decisions Crises Depression Grief Inferiority Marriage and relationship problems

This text offers readers a comprehensive survey of ten major counseling and psychotherapy approaches. For each approach, Siang-Yang Tan first provides a substantial introduction, assessing the approach's effectiveness and the latest research findings or empirical evidence for it. He then critiques the approach from a Christian perspective. Tan also includes hypothetical transcripts of interventions for each major approach to help readers get a better sense of the clinical work involved. This book presents a Christian approach to counseling and psychotherapy that is Christ centered, biblically based, and Spirit filled.

The Emotionally Healthy Church features a fuller, deeper look at the six principles contained in the original and includes a crucial, additional chapter: In this edition offers a different and challenging slant on what it takes to lead your congregation to wholeness and maturity in Christ.

The Counsel of Heaven on Earth provides a helpful introductory look at the principles of biblical Christian counseling based on models found in the books of Genesis and Isaiah. It also includes extensive survey research plus insight from personal counseling experiences. Jones also addresses the debate between biblical/nouthetic counselors and Christian/integrationist counselors, inviting all professionals to consider his fresh biblical Christian counseling approach.

Fostering specific skills application in the areas of: Creating a helping relationship  Assigning homework  Exploring the counselee's concerns  Spiritual strategies  Facilitating the sessions  Using metaphors  Assessing the counselee The book's unique combination of qualities-a practical approach highlighting professional and personal growth based on authoritative, interdisciplinary, and biblical worldview outlooks-makes this an outstanding text within its field. Workbook exercises to foster skills application are included with each chapter.

Dayringer helps pastoral counselors understand how to use the pastor-counselee relationship to bring about the desired ends in the therapeutic process. Drawing on research from the disciplines of psychiatry, psychology, marriage counseling, family therapy, and pastoral counseling, this book lays the foundation for utilizing the pastoral counseling relationship to bring about positive change as it explores topics such as observation, listening, communication, handling transference, and termination of therapy.

This approach to pastoral counseling focuses on solutions rather than problems and is typically short-term, requiring only one to four or five sessions.