Is one position on abortion always moral and another always immoral? How should Christians use Scripture to make decisions about integrity? Has God given a 'natural law' that governs all people everywhere? Answers to such questions may differ widely, even among evangelical Christians. This can be confusing and disturbing when secular and Christian worldviews collide over matters that seem to brook no compromise.

The Oxford Handbooks series is a major new initiative in academic publishing. Each volume offers an authoritative and up-to-date survey of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from leading figures in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates. The Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics offers the most authoritative and compelling guide to the discipline. Thirty of the world's most distinguished specialists provide new essays in order to offer a survey of and analysis of the subject. Ethics is first placed firmly within the Christian theological tradition, from which thought and action can never be neatly separated. Four sections then explore the sources of Christian moral knowledge (scripture, divine commands, church tradition, reason and natural law, experience); the structure of the Christian life (vocation, virtue, rules, responsibility, death); the spirit of the Christian life (faith, hope, love); and the spheres of the Christian life (government, family, economy, culture, church). The final section of the Handbook contains essays discussing and evaluating certain scholarly works that have in the past influentially offered (different) visions of how best to structure the field of theological ethics. Unlike any other book now available, the Handbook's unrivalled breadth and depth make it the definitive reference work for all students and academics who want to explore more fully essential topics in Christian ethics.

In this second volume, Webster progresses the discussion to include topics in moral theology, and the theology of created intellect. An opening chapter sets the scene by considering the relation of christology and moral theology. This is followed by a set of reflections on a range of ethical themes: the nature of human dignity; mercy; the place of sorrow in Christian existence; the nature of human courage; dying and rising with Christ as a governing motif in the Christian moral life; the presence of sin in human speech. Webster closes with studies of the nature of intellectual life and of the intellectual task of Christian theology.

The radical effects of the 16th century Reformation have been felt through generations and have profoundly shaped theology. James William McClendon explores the impact of these effects for the heirs of the Reformation in his celebrated three-volume systematic theology. With a new introduction by Curtis W. Freeman, these comprehensive volumes elucidate a distinctly Baptist vision of theology through McClendon's exposition of Christian ethics, doctrine, and witness. In so doing, McClendon provides readers with a robust vision for understanding Scripture, the Church, and the Christian's place within the world.

Stanley Hauerwas presents an overall introduction to the themes and method that have distinguished his vision of Christian ethics. Emphasizing the significance of Jesus' life and teaching in shaping moral life, The Peaceable Kingdom stresses the narrative character of moral rationality and the necessity of a historic community and tradition for morality. Hauerwas systematically develops the importance of character and virtue as elements of decision making and spirituality and stresses nonviolence as critical for shaping our understanding of Christian ethics.

Everyone, it seems, struggles with moral and ethical issues. On a daily basis, newspapers, television, radio, and magazines feature the moral scandals of political, religious, and business leaders, not to mention entertainers. Moral failure has become so common that it no longer shocks us. We wonder whether it is possible to be morally good in a largely secular society. What is the source of moral authority? Do we need God to be good?

Bestselling author Wayne Grudem explains in 42 thorough chapters what the Bible says about ethical questions regarding marriage, government, abortion, and dozens of other issues in this highly practical, biblically based volume on Christian ethics.

John Jefferson Davis (Ph.D., Duke University), an ordained Presbyterian minister is, professor of systematic theology and Christian ethics at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in South Hamilton. Massachusetts. A former president of the Evangelical Philosophical Society, Davis is the author of Foundations of Evangelical Theology, Frontiers of Science and Faith, and numerous articles in scholarly journals.

With its unique union of theory and application and its well-organized, easy-to-use design, Moral Choices has earned its place as the standard text for college ethics courses. This fourth edition offers extensive updates, revisions, and three brand new chapters all designed to help students develop a sound and current basis for making ethical decisions in today's complex postmodern culture. Moral Choices outlines the distinctive elements of Christian ethics while avoiding undue dogmatism. The book also introduces other ethical systems and their key historical proponents, including Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Thomas Aquinas, and Immanuel Kant. After describing a seven-step procedure for tackling ethical dilemmas, author Scott Rae uses case studies to address some of today's most pressing social issues. He guides students in thinking critically and biblically about issues, including: Abortion Reproductive Technologies Euthanasia Capital Punishment Sexual Ethics The Morality of War Genetic Technologies and Human Cloning Ethics and Economics NEW: Creation Care NEW: Animal Rights NEW: Gun-Control NEW: Race, Gender, and Diversity NEW: Immigration, Refugees, and Border Control FEATURES Relevant Case Studies throughout Discussion questions at the end of each chapter Sidebars with case studies for discussion Recommended further reading

When After Virtue first appeared in 1981, it was recognized as a significant and potentially controversial critique of contemporary moral philosophy. Newsweek called it "a stunning new study of ethics by one of the foremost moral philosophers in the English-speaking world." Since that time, the book has been translated into more than fifteen foreign languages and has sold over one hundred thousand copies. Now, twenty-five years later, the University of Notre Dame Press is pleased to release the third edition of After Virtue, which includes a new prologue "After Virtue after a Quarter of a Century." In this classic work, Alasdair MacIntyre examines the historical and conceptual roots of the idea of virtue, diagnoses the reasons for its absence in personal and public life, and offers a tentative proposal for its recovery. While the individual chapters are wide-ranging, once pieced together they comprise a penetrating and focused argument about the price of modernity. In the Third Edition prologue, MacIntyre revisits the central theses of the book and concludes that although he has learned a great deal and has supplemented and refined his theses and arguments in other works, he has "as yet found no reason for abandoning the major contentions" of this book. While he recognizes that his conception of human beings as virtuous or vicious needed not only a metaphysical but also a biological grounding, ultimately he remains "committed to the thesis that it is only from the standpoint of a very different tradition, one whose beliefs and presuppositions were articulated in their classical form by Aristotle, that we can understand both the genesis and the predicament of moral modernity."

Herman Bavinck's four-volume Reformed Dogmatics is one of the most important theological works of the twentieth century. The English translation was edited by leading Bavinck expert John Bolt, who now brings forth a recently discovered manuscript from Bavinck that is being published for the first time. Serving as a companion to Reformed Dogmatics, Reformed Ethics offers readers Bavinck's mature reflections on ethical issues. This book, the second of three planned volumes, covers the duties of the Christian life and includes Bavinck's exposition of the Ten Commandments.

The third volume of Frame's Theology of Lordship series, this book focuses on biblical ethics. In an age of ethical relativism and suspicion of authority, how can we know what is good, virtuous, or just? Frame surveys non-Christian ethical traditions before setting forth a solidly Christian ethical method. By clarifying biblical norms, life situations, and personal dimensions, he presents a model for decision making that honors God in all aspects of life. Discussions range from natural law and conflict of duties to detailed explorations of the Ten Commandments in connection with questions surrounding worship, the Sabbath, church and state, respect for life and truth, sexuality, and the relation of Christ to culture.

Igniting a firestorm of controversy upon its publication in 1966, Joseph Fletcher's Situation Ethicswas hailed by many as a much-needed reformation of morality--and as an invitation to anarchy by others. Proposing an ethic of loving concern, Fletcher suggests that certain acts--such as lying, premarital sex, adultery, or even murder--might be morally right, depending on the circumstances. Hotly debated on television, in magazines and newspapers, in churches, and in the classroom, Fletcher's provocative thesis remains a powerful force in contemporary discussions of morality. The Library of Theological Ethics series focuses on what it means to think theologically and ethically. It presents a selection of important and otherwise unavailable texts in easily accessible form. Volumes in this series will enable sustained dialogue with predecessors though reflection on classic works in the field.

Most of us believe that there are limits to the sacrifices that morality can demand of us. We also think that certain types of acts are simply forbidden, even when necessary for promoting the overall good. Here Kagan argues that attempts to defend these sorts of moral limit are inadequate.In thus rejecting two of the most fundamental features of commonsense morality, the book offers a sustained attack on our ordinary moral views.