The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, and history.

Early Christian World presents how the small movement which formed around Jesus in Galilee became the pre-eminent religion of the ancient world. The work begins by firmly situating early Christianity within its Mediterranean social, political and religious contexts, before charting the history of the first Christian centuries. The creation and perpetuation of Christian communities through various means, including mission and monasticism, is explored, as is the everyday experience of early Christians, through discussion of gender and sexuality, religious practice, communication and social structures.

The Encyclopedia of Early Christianity provides information about early Christianity, which spans the period from Jesus' life to the seventh century.

llustrates a period-by-period survey of the origins and worldwide expansion of Christianity that spotlights major movements, personalities, and breakthroughs

The Historical Dictionary of the Coptic Church details the history of one of the oldest Christian churches.

A broad multivolume encyclopedia providing a post-Vatican II perspective of significant controversies and figures in church history. Supplements may update articles in the main encyclopedia or provide additional articles on historical topics.

This is it a comprehensive survey of extant patristic literature, with bibliographic information for primary and secondary sources, and it covers the orthodox traditions, but not the extant heretics.

This reference work is an introduction in English to the living tradition of Christian thought-the 'spiritual, moral, and intellectual luggage' that Christians carry with them into the future. It focuses on the broad sweep of ideas rather than factual detail, surveying all traditions and centuries but concentrating more on the present than the past.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church covers all aspects of the Christian church, such as theology, churches and enominations, patristic scholarship, the Bible; the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics. ecumenical advances and mergers, and, where possible, statistics.

A comprehensive evangelical dictionary of the history of the Christian church.

This dictionary provides introductory definitions and explanations of the major personalities, events, facts, and movements in the history of Christianity. Volume One covers the early, medieval, and Reformation periods. Volume Two will cover the modern period, from 1700 on.

This is for study of the theological ideas developed in the early church period. Patristic theology is the theology of Christian writers up to the ninth century which became formative for succeeding centuries of Christianity. This handbook provides easy access to these leading theological understandings.

This volume will help you to understand the faith--addressing everything from where Christians got their ideas of the Trinity and how Christ can be both human and divine to what they think about issues like feminism, globalization and social justice. All Western society has been shaped by the influence of thinkers like Augustine, Aquinas and Luther. You can't understand the world as it is without knowing something about Christian thought. Significant events, councils, movements and terms are introduced and explained, which put the cast of characters in context and illumine their place within the development of Christian thought.

A non-technical, informed survey of recent scholarly debate on major topics important to an understanding of the early church. The bibliography contains abstracts of about one thousand books and major articles dealing with the church from the beginning of the second century roughly to the end of the sixth. Each chapter includes an introductory essay of 2-3 pages. Each chapter introduce the reader to basic reference works. The entries are extensively cross-referenced, and user-friendly codes direct the reader to introductory works, survey articles, bibliographies, and collections of primary texts.

Being introduced to the essentials of church history in a brief and accessible form, it is much easier for students to understand and appreciate what they encounter in more detailed lectures and reading. Gonzalez provides a comprehensive opening chapter that summarizes major issues and concerns of each of the principal eras of church history. Subsequent chapters focus on the ancient church, the Christian empire, the Middle Ages, the Reformation, the seventeenth through nineteenth centuries, and the twentieth century and the end of modernity.

Charts of Ancient and Medieval Church History provides a visual tool for understanding the historical foundations on which contemporary Christianity rests. From geography, to theology, to doctrines both orthodox and heretical, to key figures and movements across the centuries, and the broad, comprehensive scope of early church history.
Includes CD-ROM.

The rich tapestry of nearly 2,000 years of church history overflows with persons, places, events, dates, and ideas. This volume visually organizes large amounts of information from the history of the church for greater understanding and ease of reference. This revised and expanded edition contains 126 charts (43 of which are new) that cover the history of the ancient church, the medieval church, the Reformation, the modern European church, the American church, and more. The accessible visual presentation assists in grasping not only facts, but parallels, contrasts, and relationships between those facts. Besides the charts themselves, a helpful bibliography and index are included.

This book lays out the guidelines, methods, and basic reference tools needed for the successful researching and writing of papers in the discipline of church history and theology. Organized with the needs of research students in mind, this book will help students find a topic, locate the relevant source materials, and write quality papers. It also includes an extensive bibliography of study aids and an appendix describing computer applications for research and writing and new sources in microform.