The first tab in this guide, "Help with Creating Citations," explains how to create Turabian-style bibliographic entries. Now that you have the bibliographic entry for a book, journal article, book chapter, etc. The point of finding these resources is to use them in your papers. That requires footnotes that you use to tell the reader the place inside the book, article, etc., that you are using for what you just wrote in your paper. How do you go from that bibliographic entry into a footnote? This page explains that process.
Punctuation changes between bibliographic entries and footnotes. While looking at the examples below, think of footnotes as informal. These use lots of commas where the more formal bibliographic entry uses periods.
Page numbers are different for articles than for books.
Books
Journal Article
It is often helpful to follow an example. We have numerous examples for footnotes and bibliographies for books, journal articles, dictionaries, Bible software, and more. This is in the Turabian section of our website.
Historical Theology by Geoffrey Bromiley
Clicking the “cite” button for this title and selecting “Chicago (notes – bibliography)” generates this citation:
Bromiley, G. W. Historical Theology: An Introduction. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1978.
This can be pasted into your paper’s bibliography but you need to delete the extra space before the colon. Now, assume that you use a quotation from page 85 in your paper. To create the footnote,
1. Reverse the order of the author’s name. The order last name first in a bibliographic entry and first name first in a footnote. So, the author’s initial’s or first name go first.
G. W. Bromiley
2. Change the period after the author’s name to a comma.
G. W. Bromiley,
3. Put the book title after the comma
G. W. Bromiley, Historical Theology: An Introduction
4. Delete the period after the book title. Switch from italics back to normal type and add a pair of parentheses.
G. W. Bromiley, Historical Theology: An Introduction ()
5. Copy and paste the publisher’s location, a colon, the publisher’s name, a comma and the year of publication inside the parentheses.
G. W. Bromiley, Historical Theology: An Introduction (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1978)
6. Add a comma after the right parenthesis, a space, the page number, and a period:
2 G. W. Bromiley, Historical Theology: An Introduction (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1978), 85.
To go from a footnote to a bibliographic entry, simply do the reverse of these steps.
Doing a search in Atla Religion Plus on Luke 13:1 (library.gs.edu->Journal Database->Atla Religion Plus->Scriptures->SR "Luke 13:1") brought up the article,
“The growth of the kingdom in light of Israel's rejection of Jesus: structure and theology in Luke 13:1-35”
Clicking “cite” and choosing “Chicago/Turabian: Humanities” yields
Shirock, Robert J. “The Growth of the Kingdom in Light of Israel’s Rejection of Jesus: Structure and Theology in Luke 13:1-35.” Novum Testamentum 35, no. 1 (January 1993): 15–29. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lsdar&AN=ATLA0000861929&site=ehost-live.
1. Like a book, turn the author’s name around and change the period after it to a comma
Robert J. Shirock,
Change the comma at the end of the title inside the quotation marks into a comma.
Robert J. Shirock, “The Growth of the Kingdom in Light of Israel’s Rejection of Jesus: Structure and Theology in Luke 13:1-35,”
2. Copy the journal name and paste it after the title of the journal. The journal title, but not the article title, must be in italics.
Robert J. Shirock, “The Growth of the Kingdom in Light of Israel’s Rejection of Jesus: Structure and Theology in Luke 13:1-35,” Novum Testamentum
3. Add the volume number, a comma, and any issue number. Not all journals have issue numbers and, in that case, you would not list anything for the issue number and omit the comma after the volume number.
Robert J. Shirock, “The Growth of the Kingdom in Light of Israel’s Rejection of Jesus: Structure and Theology in Luke 13:1-35,” Novum Testamentum 35, no. 1
4. Add the year in parentheses, followed by a colon, a space, the page number(s) that you referenced for your quotation or other use of the article, and a period. It is unnecessary to list the month with the year.
Robert J. Shirock, “The Growth of the Kingdom in Light of Israel’s Rejection of Jesus: Structure and Theology in Luke 13:1-35,” Novum Testamentum 35, no. 1 (1993): 21.