Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. Volumes 1 to 15 (Antiquity) deal with Greco-Roman antiquity. Volumes I to V (Classical Tradition) are concerned with the long and influential aftermath of the classical heritage. Index Antiquity relates to vols. 1-15 (Antiquity) while Index The Classical Tradition, relates to vols. 1-5 (Classical Tradition).

This dictionary explores the major themes and contours of the Pentateuch. It examines and weighs the historical issues and poses possible solutions. The documentary hypothesis is now widely rumored to be on life support with no heir apparent and conservative scholars reconsider what a claim to Mosaic authorship should entail. This dictionary offers an assessment of the array of questions surrounding these issues and considers some possible ways forward for evangelical scholarship. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch is designed to be your first stop in the study and research of the Pentateuch, on which the rest of the Bible is built.

The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books focues on Joshua and Israel poised to enter the land--and carries us through the postexilic period. The history of Israel forms the skeletal structure of the Old Testament. Understanding this history and the biblical books that trace it is essential to comprehending the Bible. One feature is a series of eight consecutive articles on the periods of Israel's history from the settlement to postexilic period, which form a condensed history of Israel.

The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets includes115 articles covering all aspects of Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, the twelve "minor prophets" and Daniel. Each book's historical, cultural, religious and literary background is thoroughly covered, alongside articles on interpretation history and critical method.

This Dictionary offers nearly 150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Coverage of each biblical book includes an introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. Additional articles amply explore the literary dimensions of Hebrew poetry and prose, including acrostic, ellipsis, inclusio, intertextuality, parallelism and rhyme. And there are well-rounded treatments of Israelite wisdom and wisdom literature, including wisdom poems, sources and theology.

TDOT presents in-depth discussions of key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. The writers' intention is to concentrate on "meaning," starting with the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. To avoid artificially restricting the focus of the articles, TDOT considers the larger groups of words under each keyword that are related linguistically or semantically. The lexical work includes detailed surveys of a word's occurrences, in both in biblical material and in other ancient Near Eastern writings. Sumerian, Akkadian, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Ugaritic, and Northwest Semitic sources are surveyed, among others, including the Qumran texts and the Septuagint. TDOT's emphasis, though, is on Hebrew terminology and on biblical usage.

The New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis is intended for serious Old Testament and exegetical study by academics and pastors, students and laypersons. It contains all words found in the Hebrew text ordered by Hebrew alphabetization for easy reference, and coupled with a Goodrick/Kohlenberger cross-referencing number to be used in conjunction with Strong's numbering system.