Many resources for biblical and theological studies, links to other sites including the STEP Bible project.

Commentaries are listed here by anyone who wants to offer a review of a commentary. “Best” is the judgment of readers. It is not an academic resource. It is not peer-reviewed. The library provides much better commentary surveys, such as Guide to Biblical Commentaries and Reference Works by John F. Evans.

The Unbound Bible is a collection of searchable Bibles consisting of:10 English versions including the NASB, Greek, and Hebrew versions (the original Bible languages), four ancient versions, and forty-two versions in other languages.

Bible Odyssey was created by SBL and provides articles and bibliographies on a wide range of Bible-related subjects, including controversial ones.

Several resources available on the web.

Links to numerous subjects especially early Judaism and Christianity

This website provides searchable versions of the Bible: 60 English versions and 1813 Bibles in 1258 total languages, including the original languages of the text.

“Making Biblical Scholarship Accessible Since 2001.” Pointers to lots of resources, including full-text articles and books that are generally scholarly material.

Links to academic resources for biblical studies

Each November from 1971 through 2003 the Society of Biblical Literature published a collection of papers that would be presented in the sessions (or seminars) at that year’s Annual Meeting: the SBL Seminar Papers. The contents of the collection were determined not by theme or topic but by which papers were submitted to SBL early enough to be assembled into a volume and printed for distribution at the Annual Meeting.

Over the thirty-three years of the Seminar Papers’ existence, SBL published forty-one physical volumes (two volumes each for 1971–1975, 1978–1979, and 1998) containing 1,126 papers that filled 19,849 pages. Although the Seminar Papers explicitly identified their contents as “working documents,” “experimental and initial work on a subject,” many continue to be cited in scholarly work today—that is, when one can locate a library that owns them.