This page includes a variety of general resources, bibliographies, biographies, and atlases related to the history of the American church.
Many more resources are waiting for you in the library catalog. Before searching the library catalog, be sure to check out the second column for search tips. Also, take a few moments to consider your topic and make a list of words and short phrases before embarking on your search.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History by 
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience by 
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by 
Dictionary of Christianity in America by 
The Religious History of America by 
The Literature of Theology by 
Religious Periodicals of the United States by 
Contemporary American Religion by 
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions by 
Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics by 
Encyclopedia of Evangelicalism by 
Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics by Encyclopedia of Religion in the South by 
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States by 
American Evangelicalism by American Religion and Philosophy by The Charismatic Movement: a guide to the study of Neo-Pentecostalism with emphasis on Anglo-American sources by 
Church and State in America: a bibliographical guide by 
A Guide to the Study of the Pentecostal Movement by Twentieth-Century Evangelicalism: A guide to the sourcesThe Blackwell Dictionary of Evangelical Biography, 1730-1860 by 
Dictionary of American Religious Biography by 
Handbook of Evangelical Theologians by 
The Evangelicals: A Historical, Thematic, and Biographical Guide by 
Religious Leaders of America by Atlas of Religious Change in America, 1971-1980
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America by 
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America by
By default, this search box looks for keywords and returns a broad array of results from the Library Catalog (WMS). You can narrow the focus using filters in the result screen's sidebar or you can narrow your search from the beginning using some of the following tips and tricks below.
Take a look at this video about searching the library catalog.
If you are searching for a specific...
Phrase, enclose your search in quotation marks.
Subject, you can add su: to the beginning of your search.
Title, you can add ti: to the beginning of your search.
Author, you can add au: to the beginning of your search. Try searching both Last name, First name and First name Last name formats.
By default the library catalog adds "AND" between each word of your search and looks for records that contain all of the searched words. Always enter Boolean operators in ALL CAPS.
Boolean Operators and examples:
AND
Example: women AND missions AND 20th century;
finds records that contain all three words.
OR
missions OR missionaries
finds records that include either word, so expands your search results.
NOT
communism NOT Russia
finds records that include the word communism but excludes records that also include the word Russia.
Wildcard searches: Use a question mark (?) to replace unknown characters.
Truncation or Variant Ending searches: Use an asterisk at the end of a word to retrieve variant endings.
Nesting complex searches: You can help nest complex searches using parentheses.
