Library

• To request a book from another campus, use the Hold/Intercampus Loan.
• If you live more than 20 miles from the nearest campus and need to have books sent to you, request a Bookbag.
• If Gateway Seminary Library does not have a book you need, request an InterLibrary Loan for the book or chapter(s) you need.
• If you live more than 20 miles from a campus and need to have PDF Scans of a print journal article, chapter or part of a book emailed to you, use the PDF Scan Request.

***Need something from Rocky Mountain Campus, but link sends you to InterLibrary Loan Request form? Follow these instructions instead: No Choices on Hold Requests Page.

Holds/Intercampus Loan (ICL)

The Hold/ICL service allows students to reserve and receive books shipped from any Gateway Seminary campus library at their own campus library. Patrons may request books from their own or other Gatway campus libraries using this service.

The library will ship books, but not media items or non-circulating items such as Reference or Limited Access books.

You need to be logged into your account before searching and placing requests.

1. To log into your account, click on My Account, type in your institutional ID number and password, then click Login.
2. After logging into your account, search for a book in the library catalog.
3. Limit your search results to Gateway Seminary and Book (left column)
4. Click on a title that you want and confirm that we do not have an ebook of it.
5. Look in the right column (or scroll down) in the title record to the Check Availability section and click the Request Hold/PDF/Bookbag button.
6. This takes you to the request page.
7. Under “Pick Up Options,” in the drop down menu, choose the campus you want to pick the book up at.
8. A list of available copies will show. Check the box of the title you want to check out (left side of row). Make sure that it is not a reference book and request the copy at your campus if available.
9. Click the blue “Submit” Button.
10. Only one request per title is needed.
11. Delivery time is 1-14 days, depending on if the book is at your campus or has to be mailed to your campus for pickup. Notification is sent by e-mail.
12. Multiple concurrent requests for the same title may result in the loss of library privileges.

Patrons are allowed fifteen outstanding Hold/ICL requests at a time. If you place these all on the same day, you will not be able to request any more items until you have picked up some of the items you already requested, which may take 1-2 weeks to arrive.

For questions about accessing this service, please contact your regional campus library or email circuilation@gs.edu.

top of page

Bookbag

Bookbag requests are for students requesting books to be shipped to their home. This service is reserved for students who live more than 20 miles from a Gateway Seminary campus and who live in the United States. If you live within 20 miles of any of our campuses, use the Hold/ICL service above to request books from other Gateway campus libraries.

The library will ship books, but not media items or non-circulating items such as Reference or Limited Access books. Materials will be mailed only to locations within the United States, including Alaska and Hawaii.

The following steps are described in more detail in the Bookbag Video.

1. Go to the library website home page and click on the Library Catalog tab on the searchbox.
2. Search the library catalog and limit the search results to Gateway Seminary and books (left column). Only print items may be requested for a bookbag request.
3. No ebook available? Click on the title of the book.
4. Look in the right column (or scroll down) in the title record to the Check Availability section and click the Request Hold/PDF/Bookbag button.
5. In the Pick Up Options drop down menu, choose Ontario Campus –Bookbag Requests.
6. Check the box (left end of row) of the copy of the book you want mailed to you.
7. In the comments box (right end of same row), write your home address where the book is to be delivered. We do not mail to businesses or P.O. boxes.
8. Click the blue Submit button.
9. You will receive the requested items in 7-14 days, depending on where you live. They are checked out on the day they are put in the mail and can be renewed if no one else has requested them.

The library mails the books to you free of charge. You are responsible for the return of the items to a Gateway library. Make sure to track the package in case of lost mail. Patrons are responsible for items being overdue or lost fines/fees until they are received at a Gateway library. Items coming from multiple campuses may be returned to a single location.

This is a privilege and courtesy the Library extends. The Library retains the right to refuse this service to anyone. An exception to this policy is granted on a case-by-case basis. If you have questions, please contact your local library.

For questions about accessing this service, please contact the your regional campus library or e-mail circulation@gs.edu.

top of page

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Patrons may request materials including book chapters and print journal articles (delivered as pdfs via e-mail or hardcopy) outside of the Gateway Seminary library system by using Interlibrary Loan, or ILL.

There is no cost to Gateway students or faculty to use the ILL service. Book chapters and hardcopy articles from other libraries are requested and shipped to the GS Library of your choice within two to three weeks. Articles are delivered via e-mail, usually within a few days of the request. If you requested the material be sent to a Regional Campus, the material will be shipped to that campus for pickup. ILL books cannot be sent directly to your home.

• Online Resources
• Throughout the library's online resources, you will see the Look for GS Resources link to full text. This button allows you to check the complete Gateway Seminary Library collection before submitting an ILL request.


1. The Look for GS Resources link either takes you to the full text of the item you are looking for or to a webpage with additional options if it cannot find the item online.
2. On the webpage with additional options, click the check Holdings in your Library Catalog link to see if we have this item in print.
3. If the requested material cannot be located in the GS library system, click on the Request this item on the same webpage. Fill out the form and click submit.

• Library Catalog
• While searching in the library catalog, if you find a title you want, but the library does not have it, click on the title of the book, then click on Request Item through Inter Library Loan link. Fill out the form and click on Submit.

For questions about accessing this service, please contact your regional campus library or e-mail circulation@gs.edu.

top of page

PDF Scan Requests

Scan requests are for students requesting print materials to be scanned as a PDF and sent to their email. This service is available only to Gateway Seminary students, faculty and staff who live more than 20 miles from the nearest campus. Follow the instructions below to make a PDF Scan Request. A general guide for PDF Scans is shown in the PDF Scan Request Tutorial video.

• Journal Articles: copy the citation for the journal article from the database you found it in, as you will need the journal title, volume and issue number in addition to the title and author of the article you want.


1. Search for the title of the journal you need from the LIBRARY CATALOG tab on the library’s home page.
2. If off-campus, log into your library account to see all resources.
3. Limit to Gateway Seminary and Journal Titles in the left column.
4. Once you find the journal and confirm that we own it, click on the title.
5. If the journal is available online
1. look at the available dates or volume numbers to see if the one you need is there.
2. If it is, click the View Online to go to the journal title and search for the article there.
6. If the volume of the journal you need is available only in print, scroll down to the Availability section and confirm that we have the volume and issue you need.
7. Yes? Look in the right column (or scroll down to the Check Availability section) and click the Request Hold/PDF/Bookbag button.
8. No? Look in the right column (or scroll down to the Check Availability section) and click the “Request Item through InterLibrary Loan” button and follow the end of the InterLibrary Loan Request instructions above.
9. Assuming you clicked the Request Hold link, you now see the Request form.
10. Under “Pick Up Options,” in the drop down menu, choose “Ontario Campus- PDF Scan Request”
11. Check the box of the journal title to be scanned (left side of row)
12. In the comments box (right side of the same row as book copy you checked) provide
1. the article title and author
2. volume # and issue #
3. or paste the citation you have from the original database you found it into the comments box.
13. For example:
1. Pazdan, Mary Margaret. “Gifts, Challenges, and Promises in John 13-17.” The Bible Today 38 (March 2000): 75–80.
2. Gifts, Challenges, and Promises in John 13-17 by Mary Margaret Pazdan, vol. 38, March 2000, page 75-80.
14. Click the blue “Submit” Button.

top of page

• Book Chapter, Scripture Passage & Encyclopedia Article(s)
1. For a book chapter PDF request, copy the citation for the chapter from the database you found it into Notepad or another document for reference.
2. For all requests, go to the library website home page and click on the Library Catalog tab on the searchbox.
3. Search for the title of the book you need a PDF Scan from.
4. If off-campus, log into your library account to see all resources.
5. Once you find the book and confirm that we own it, click on the title.
6. If the book is available as an ebook, click on the View eBook link and download the chapter you need.
7. If the book is available only in print, scroll down and click the Blue Button that says Request Hold/PDF/BookBag under "Check Availability."
8. Under Pick Up Options, in the drop down menu, choose “Ontario Campus- PDF Scan Request”
9. Check the box of the book to be scanned (left end of row).
10. In the comments box (right end of the same row as book copy you checked) provide the chapter title and page numbers, or scripture passage needed. (For example:
1. Logos in the New Testament, pages 125-145,
2. Logos in the New Testament by John Doe in this book
3. Ephesians 2:1-5.
11. Click the blue Submit Button.

top of page

• Print Book, Encyclopedia or Dictionary does not allow Hold, PDF Scan or InterCampus Loan Request for some reason? Follow the instructions below:
1. For problem requests, go to the library website home page and click on the Library Catalog tab on the searchbox.
2. Search for the title of the book(s) you want to place Holds, Bookbag or PDF Scan Requests for.
3. If off-campus, log into your library account to see all resources.
4. Limit the search results to Gateway Seminary in the left column.
5. Select the titles you want and add them to My Items (star in lower left corner of title citation on search results screen)
   1. Scans
      1. Go to My Items and select the titles you want scanned sections of sent to you.
      2. Click on Email and send the titles to yourself.
      3. Review the list of books: If there are any ebooks, remove them from the email, since you can access them directly online.
      4. Email the remaining titles to circulation@gs.edu with the following information:
         1. Subject: Scan Request
         2. Body of email:
            1. Include your name, email address and student ID#
            2. After each title, include the section(s) or chapter(s) needed from the resource
            3. Request that the section(s) and/or chapter(s) you listed for each title be emailed to you.
            4. Without this identifying material, the library is unable to fulfill your request.
         3. You will receive the requested items in 1-3 days, depending on the volume of the requests made within the library system.
         4. Please be reasonable, and request needed pages, as we adhere to copyright requirements and will not scan more than 10-15 % of any book
   2. Holds
      1. Go to My Items and select the titles you want placed on hold for you.
      2. Click on Email and send the titles to yourself.
      3. Review the list of books: If there are any ebooks, remove them from the email, since you can access them directly online.
      4. Email the remaining titles to circulation@gs.edu with the following information:
         1. Subject: Hold Request
         2. Body of email:
            1. Include your name and student ID#
            2. Request that the book(s) be placed on hold for you at ___ campus
            3. Without this identifying material, the library is unable to fulfill your request.
         3. You will receive an email when the books are available for you to pick up at the requested campus (2-14 days).
   3. Bookbags (only for students living in the United States)
      1. Go to My Items and select the titles you want mailed to you.
      2. Click on Email and send the titles to yourself.
      3. Review the list of books: If there are any ebooks, remove them from the email, since you can access them directly online.
      4. Email the remaining titles to circulation@gs.edu with the following information:
         1. Subject: Hold Request
         2. Body of email:
            1. Include your name, home address and student ID#
            2. Request that the book(s) be placed mailed to your home
            3. Without this identifying material, the library is unable to fulfill your request.
         3. You will receive an email when the books are mailed to you. If you request books from multiple campuses, you will receive multiple shipments, but they may all be returned to a single campus.
         4. The library pays postage to mail the books to you. You are responsible for returning the books via mail or in person, depending on where you live.

top of page

top of page